Connecticut replaced book values with a fixed depreciation schedule. Who in Colchester paid more, and who paid less.
What changed. Until the October 1, 2023 grand list, Connecticut assessed a car at 70% of its J.D. Power (formerly NADA) clean retail book value — what the vehicle was actually worth that October. Starting with the October 1, 2024 grand list, the value is set by formula instead: a fixed percentage of the vehicle's original sticker price (MSRP), based on model year, then multiplied by the same 70% assessment ratio. Those October 1, 2024 values produced the tax bills that arrived July 1, 2025.
The question this page answers. Residents have asked whether the change raised everyone's car tax, or only some people's. It did not raise everyone's. It moved the burden around — and the direction depended more on which vehicle you own than on how old it is.
Based on 519 vehicles taxed on both the October 1, 2023 and October 1, 2024 grand lists, drawn from Colchester's public tax bill lookup. This is the change a resident actually saw on the envelope: it includes the new valuation method, one more year of vehicle age, and the mill rate rising from 28.67 to 29.92.
—
Among the bills that rose, the median increase was —. Among those that fell, the median decrease was —. Because the falls were larger than the rises, the town's total motor vehicle grand list dropped 6.4% even though about a third of individual bills went up.
—
Did the car tax bill go up, and by how much?
The mill rate rose 4.4% between the two years, which lifted every bill regardless of valuation.
How was the change spread across vehicles?
The distribution has two clusters rather than one: a 20-30% decrease, and a second group just above zero.
Was it about how old the car was?
Sorting the sample by make accounts for about — of the spread in assessment changes; sorting by model year accounts for about —.
Why did cars of the same age move differently?
The two lines cross around model year 2015-2016: where the market line sits above the schedule line, assessments fell; where it sits below, they rose.
Which vehicles went up?
Assessments generally fell for makes that hold their value (Toyota, Honda, Subaru, pickup trucks, motorcycles) and generally rose for makes that depreciate faster than average (luxury sedans and SUVs).
The statute sets a minimum assessment of $500. In Colchester's bills, vehicles of model year 2005 and newer are assessed at a percentage of MSRP; model year 2004 and older are assessed at exactly $500, and one more model year crosses that line each year. For a 20-year-old vehicle that still carried real book value, this was a large cut — a 2004 pickup in the sample went from a $257 bill to a $15 bill. For the many older vehicles already assessed at or near $500 under the old method, the assessment did not move at all, so their bill rose by the full mill rate increase. That is why the 20-plus-year group shows the highest share of rising bills and the lowest share of rising assessments in the same chart above.
This is the question residents most want answered, and it is the one this data answers least well. Two things changed between the two bills besides the law: every vehicle got a year older, and used-car prices kept cooling from their pandemic peak. Separating the law from those requires estimating what the old book-value method would have produced on October 1, 2024 — a number nobody recorded.
Estimating it from Colchester's own bills — using how much assessments actually fell under the old method between the 2022 and 2023 grand lists, adjusted for the difference in used-vehicle price drift between the two years — changes the median vehicle's assessment by — relative to what the old method would have given, across every used-vehicle price drift assumption tested. In other words, close to a wash for the typical vehicle. The size of that estimate is withheld pending the correction described below.
The per-vehicle split from that estimate is not reliable, and is not reported here. Running the identical calculation across a pair of years when the law did not change produces a near-even up-and-down split anyway — — — because applying one average depreciation rate to every vehicle turns each vehicle's ordinary variation into an apparent effect. The median survives that test; a headcount does not.
Correction pending on these two figures. The depreciation-rate estimator behind the range and the placebo above is fitted on passenger vehicles only, but the version that produced these numbers applied it to every vehicle class, including trailers, for which no rate was fitted. The fault is in the analysis script, which has been corrected in the project repository (CarTaxAnalysis/viewb2.py); restating the two figures needs the original bill capture, which is not published because it carries owner names, so they are left as computed and flagged here rather than quietly replaced. Re-running the corrected script on a reconstruction of the sample moves the range by a few points and leaves the placebo a near-even split, so the conclusion these figures support — that the median is reportable and a per-vehicle headcount is not — does not depend on the correction. Nothing else on this page uses that estimator: the headline splits, the make-by-make pattern and the schedule derivation are all measured directly from the bills.
What can be said plainly: the town's total motor vehicle grand list fell 6.4%, most of the decrease residents saw in their own bills came from vehicle age and a cooling used-car market rather than from the law, and the law's clearest effect was on who pays — the make-by-make pattern above, which needs no counterfactual at all.
Both figures are on your own bills, and both are public at Colchester's tax bill lookup — search your name and read the total tax on the two motor vehicle bills for the same vehicle.
This compares your two bills. It does not separate the valuation change from the mill rate change or from your vehicle getting a year older.
What did all of it do to the town’s motor-vehicle tax base?
Colchester’s net motor vehicle grand list fell from $175.7 million (GL2023) to $164.4 million (GL2024), a decrease of 6.4%, then recovered to $175.4 million on the October 1, 2025 list.
The 2024 law gave every town the same schedule. A February 2025 emergency act (Public Act 25-2) then offered towns an optional schedule five percentage points higher at every step, and let them re-publish a grand list already filed.
Colchester's Board of Selectmen took the option on March 6, 2025, voting 4-0 to "enact the local option … and enable the town assessor to republish the October 1, 2024, motor vehicle Grand List utilizing the optional depreciation schedule." The assessor's figures put the regular motor vehicle list at $149.9 million under the default schedule against $165.6 million under the option, with a further $1.6 million on the supplemental list — a combined $17.3 million of assessment, which the assessor's handout valued at roughly $496,000 of tax at the prior year's mill rate. The list as finally certified came in at $164.4 million, slightly below the estimate.
Every vehicle assessment on this page therefore reflects the higher, optional schedule. Applying the default schedule to the same sampled vehicles, — of bills would have fallen rather than —, with a median change of — instead of —.
The step between model years was read out of the bills themselves, by comparing the same vehicle's assessment on the 2024 and 2025 grand lists — a ratio that depends only on the schedule, since original sticker price does not change. Every model year steps down by exactly five points, matching the optional schedule's ladder. The level — 90% in the first year rather than the default 85% — comes from the Board of Selectmen's vote, and the original sticker prices implied by the bills are consistent with it.
| Model year | Share of original MSRP | Assessment on a $30,000 MSRP vehicle |
|---|
Assessment = MSRP × the percentage above × 70%. One detail of Colchester's practice differs from a literal reading of the statute: the statute's 20% band covers five years, but Colchester applies 20% across six model years, 2010 through 2005, and the $500 minimum only from model year 2004. The MSRP comes to the assessor from the state DMV, keyed to the vehicle identification number, and is a base price that excludes destination charge and options; under the new law an appeal can challenge the MSRP used, but not the mileage or condition of the vehicle.
| Model year | Schedule % | Vehicles in sample | Assessment rose | Assessment fell | Median assessment change | Median Oct-2023 book value as % of MSRP |
|---|
Rows are unweighted counts within the sample as drawn, not estimates of town-wide shares. Model-year rows rest on 5 to 33 vehicles each and are noisy; the age bands in the chart above are the more reliable cut. Model years 2004 and older are omitted here because they sit at the $500 floor rather than on the percentage schedule.
Connecticut publishes no per-vehicle assessment data, and neither the state, the Office of Policy and Management, the Connecticut Conference of Municipalities, nor any town has published a count of vehicles whose assessments rose or fell. Colchester's own motor vehicle grand list is not published either. What is public is every individual tax bill, through the town's bill lookup.
On August 21, 2026, 250 motor vehicle grand list numbers were drawn at random from the October 1, 2024 list, whose highest list number in use is about 10,879. Each drawn account was then looked up by name to recover the same vehicle's bills on the adjacent grand lists. That produced 1,184 distinct owner-and-vehicle records, of which 519 carried a taxable bill on both the 2023 and 2024 lists — the paired set used throughout. The population is motor vehicle bills, which includes vehicles registered to businesses as well as to households; two commercial fleets appear in the sample and are down-weighted accordingly.
The lookup shows the tax charged, not the assessment. Colchester applies a single mill rate to all property with no overlapping district rates, so assessment = tax ÷ mill rate × 1,000. Mill rates come from OPM's published series: 28.67 for the October 1, 2023 list and 29.92 for the October 1, 2024 list. As a check, 97.7% of derived assessments come out as whole multiples of $10, as assessments are recorded — a result that would not hold if the mill rate or the arithmetic were wrong. Records failing that check are dropped; they appear to be bills adjusted mid-year, though the check is a partial screen rather than a complete one, since a bill prorated to exactly half still lands on a $10 boundary. A handful of such half-value bills remain in the sample.
Because the name lookup returns every household sharing a surname and first initial, larger name groups are more likely to be drawn. The headline percentages therefore weight each vehicle by the inverse of its name group's size, which is the standard correction for that kind of sampling; confidence intervals come from 4,000 bootstrap resamples over name groups. As a check, the vehicles that were themselves the random draw — a plain random sample needing no weighting — give a share of rising bills within about one point of the weighted estimate. The breakdowns by age, make and model year are not weighted. They describe the sample as drawn, in which larger name groups are over-represented, so they serve to compare groups with one another and are not estimates of town-wide shares; the headline figures above are the only population estimates on this page.
Sources. Depreciation schedules and the $500 minimum: Public Act 25-2 §2, amending CGS §12-63(b)(7); background in OLR Report 2025-R-0097 and OPM's taxpayer bulletin. Colchester's election of the optional schedule: Board of Selectmen agenda, March 6, 2025, approved minutes in the April 3, 2025 packet, and the assessor's handout. Grand list totals: OPM Net Grand List by Town. Mill rates: OPM Mill Rates. No overlapping district rates: Colchester FY 2024-25 audited financial report, Table 3. Used-vehicle price index: BLS CPI, used cars and trucks. Individual bills: Town of Colchester tax bill lookup.
Terms used here are defined in the glossary: grand list, mill rate, assessment ratio, MSRP, clean retail value.
Colchester’s own series behind the charts on this page, as text. Each table names the dataset it came from and the year of every row. The peer towns and group medians the charts also plot are not repeated here; they are in the same source files, linked in the footer.
| Fiscal year | Real estate and personal property | Motor vehicle | Grand list year |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2013-14 | 30.28 | 30.28 | 2012 |
| FY 2014-15 | 30.57 | 30.57 | 2013 |
| FY 2015-16 | 30.76 | 30.76 | 2014 |
| FY 2016-17 | 30.91 | 30.91 | 2015 |
| FY 2017-18 | 32.37 | 32.37 | 2016 |
| FY 2018-19 | 32.28 | 32.28 | 2017 |
| FY 2019-20 | 32.84 | 32.84 | 2018 |
| FY 2020-21 | 32.84 | 32.84 | 2019 |
| FY 2021-22 | 33.05 | 33.05 | 2020 |
| FY 2022-23 | 26.82 | 26.82 | 2021 |
| FY 2023-24 | 27.22 | 27.22 | 2022 |
| FY 2024-25 | 28.67 | 28.67 | 2023 |
| FY 2025-26 | 29.92 | 29.92 | 2024 |
A mill is $1 of tax per $1,000 of assessed value, and Connecticut assesses property at 70% of market value. A revaluation steps the posted rate down in that year even when the town collects the same amount of tax, so posted rates are not comparable across a revaluation or between towns. Source: CT OPM, Mill Rates (emyx-j53e).
| Fiscal year | Real property levy | Personal property levy | Motor vehicle levy | Total tax levy | Equalized mill rate |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2018-19 | $33,469,335 | $1,560,410 | $4,048,779 | $39,078,524 | 21.49 |
| FY 2019-20 | $34,283,527 | $1,666,740 | $4,166,813 | $40,117,080 | 21.93 |
| FY 2020-21 | $34,557,954 | $1,659,692 | $4,339,407 | $40,557,053 | 20.73 |
| FY 2021-22 | $35,333,703 | $1,872,866 | $4,527,341 | $41,733,911 | 18.53 |
| FY 2022-23 | not reported | not reported | not reported | $43,065,983 | 19.52 |
| FY 2023-24 | $35,824,237 | $2,363,050 | $4,935,850 | $43,123,136 | 15.52 |
| FY 2024-25 | $38,084,754 | $3,374,581 | $4,992,510 | $46,451,845 | 15.63 |
| FY 2025-26 | $39,731,461 | $3,379,266 | $4,895,527 | $48,006,254 | 15.36 |
| FY 2026-27 | $40,089,114 | $3,235,054 | $5,220,763 | $48,544,931 | not reported |
The three property-type levies are what the town reported billing on land and buildings, on business equipment and other personal property, and on the vehicles on its October 1 list; they sum to the total. Supplemental motor-vehicle bills, for vehicles registered after October 1, are billed separately and are not in the total. Where a year's breakdown reads "Not reported", the state's row for that year was a partial filing or a zero and the total comes from the town's adopted budget instead, which has no breakdown. The equalized rate restates the levy against the market value of the town's property. That is what makes rates comparable between towns and across a revaluation; the posted rate above is not. Source: CT OPM, Tax Levy by Municipality and Special Tax District (he33-brru) and Equalized Net Grand List (8rr8-a322).
| Grand list year | Net grand list | Residential | Commercial | Motor vehicle | Personal property |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2011 | $1,176,520,440 | $892,463,500 | $98,212,900 | $115,389,290 | $38,546,180 |
| 2012 | not reported | $899,271,650 | $98,719,300 | $115,462,104 | $46,201,296 |
| 2013 | $1,195,815,175 | $907,484,360 | $98,797,400 | $115,959,209 | $41,857,755 |
| 2014 | $1,201,873,865 | $916,402,360 | $100,538,190 | $117,413,634 | $40,248,076 |
| 2015 | $1,216,010,210 | $926,175,520 | $101,161,940 | $119,799,940 | $41,925,360 |
| 2016 | $1,201,704,429 | $891,544,700 | $113,677,690 | $125,157,459 | $47,283,890 |
| 2017 | $1,213,163,935 | $902,773,650 | $111,037,810 | $127,875,950 | $48,524,180 |
| 2018 | $1,223,066,888 | $910,164,380 | $111,265,260 | $128,046,930 | $50,857,828 |
| 2019 | $1,240,099,632 | $918,131,870 | $113,180,010 | $133,464,158 | $52,904,750 |
| 2020 | $1,261,557,248 | $928,617,950 | $116,096,390 | $138,020,350 | $57,495,712 |
| 2021 | $1,544,354,077 | $1,145,075,470 | $135,683,680 | $173,431,850 | $66,714,207 |
| 2022 | $1,602,935,096 | $1,155,504,000 | $136,465,605 | $182,982,520 | $103,928,091 |
| 2023 | $1,623,422,414 | $1,169,713,390 | $136,695,375 | $175,719,320 | $118,165,539 |
| 2024 | $1,605,955,411 | $1,178,392,580 | $136,097,785 | $164,423,660 | $113,362,776 |
Assessed values, at 70% of market value. The grand list year runs ahead of the fiscal year that taxes it, so a grand list year and a fiscal year on this page are not the same period. Source: CT OPM, Net Grand List by Town (webp-fgt3).
| ACS release | Median household income | Per-capita income | Median home value | Median gross rent | Population |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2021 | $104,527 | $48,144 | $268,900 | $1,301 ±144 | 15,552 |
| 2022 | $114,505 | $52,273 | $315,500 | $1,276 ±175 | 15,550 |
| 2023 | $118,839 | $55,820 | $340,300 | $1,398 ±140 | 15,505 |
| 2024 | $122,390 | $60,108 | $366,800 | $1,474 ±153 | 15,648 |
Each release is a rolling five-year average, not a single year, so consecutive releases overlap and should not be read as year-over-year change. Median home value is what owners report to the survey, not an assessment. Gross rent is contract rent plus the estimated cost of utilities and fuels where the renter pays them, so it is not the figure on a lease; it covers renter-occupied units, while median home value covers owner-occupied ones. The number after ± is the 90% margin of error the Census publishes with that estimate. Source: US Census Bureau, American Community Survey 5-year estimates. Median gross rent is ACS 5-year, B25064.